Week 3: Mushroom-Barley Soup

Oh my!  I was planning on posting every Sunday…  I guess I have already had a little bump in the road.  I made this recipe last Monday and was just planning to write about it on the following Sunday, but it seems that life got in the way.  I visited a college on Saturday and had a big interview, (fingers crossed it was a good one!) but that meant all homework was to be done on Sunday, not to mention the fact that I was super tired.  Anyways, I’ll stop trying to make excuses and get on with the recipe.  This week I made a delicious mushroom-barley soup out of the Moosewood Cookbook. IMG_4367.JPG From what I can tell this is a totally vegetarian cookbook, so I’m sure there will be more recipes included from it in the following weeks.  (Also as a side note this book was published in 1977.. #retro)  Just as a little extra, I decided to make homemade bread.  It was a relatively easy to cook, the recipe is as follows:

6-8 Servings

1 1/4 hours to prepare

1/2 cup raw pearled barley

6 1/2 cups vegetable stock or water (we used store bought stock)

1/2-1 teaspoon salt

3-4 tablespoons tamari (soy sauce)

3-4 tablespoons dry sherry

3 tablespoons butter

2 cloves minced garlic

1 heaping cup chopped onion

1 pound fresh mushrooms, sliced

freshly ground pepper

1.  Cook the barley in 1 1/2 cups of the stock or water until tender (cook it right in the soup kettle.)  Add the remaining stock or water, tamari, and sherry.

2.  Sauté the onions and garlic in butter.  When they soften add mushrooms and 1/2 teaspoon of salt.  When all is tender add to barley, being sure to include the liquid the vegetables expressed while cooking.

3.  Give it a generous grinding of black pepper and simmer 20 minutes, covered, over the lowest possible heat.  Taste to correct seasoning.

TIPS:

The biggest criticism my family gave is that it could use more barley HOWEVER the barley does sink to the bottom of the pan, so make sure that when scooping you get all the way to the bottom to really pick that barley up and you might find that the 1/2 cup is more than enough.  Additionally, something that made this recipe go really smoothly for me was that I located and double checked all of my ingredients before cooking, and while the barley was cooking I prepped everything.  By this, I mean that I put chopped onion and garlic in its own little bowl, the sliced mushrooms in a bowl, etc. just so that everything was nice and organized and I could easily progress the recipe quickly.

OUR THOUGHTS:

Everybody really liked it!  My younger sister doesn’t really like mushrooms all that much, so she probably ate the least of it.  Everybody else seemed pretty pleased with my creation, and I even put it in a thermos and brought leftovers for lunch on Tuesday :).  All in all, another successful recipe has been added to the inventory, and we will definitely try cooking this again!

PICTURES:

img_4358

Setup before I started cooking

img_4361

Ingredients!

img_4359

Barley Cooking

img_4362

Mushrooms, garlic and onion cooking

img_4365

Soup in the pot

img_4360

Not really part of any recipe, but this is the bread I created 😉

Let me know if you try this recipe!

Happy cooking,

Krissy

Leave a Reply

