Week 2: Hibachi Style Fried Rice

Hey fellow food blog readers!  I’m still getting the hang of this website, but I think that eventually I will be a pro at writing these posts.  I’m a little awkward when it comes to starting off these posts, any tips?  Anyways, I’ll get to my recipe.  This week I decided to make some fried rice.  I had never made anything like it before, but I was really craving fried rice like the kind you get when you go to a Japanese steakhouse.  This recipe tasted very similar (and it was a portion of the price ;))  Here is the recipe I used from food.com, added by Darla Emerson:

unnamed-8.jpg

The finished product!

2 cups cooked rice, cooled (I used more than this and just adjusted the rest of the ingredients accordingly.)

1 tablespoon extra virgin olive oil

1/2 cup onion , chopped

1/4 cup peas and carrots, frozen

1 egg

2 tablespoons margarine

2 tablespoons soy sauce

 

  1. Cook the rice.  When I let it “cool” I just removed the pan from the heat, left it in the pan and placed it on a wooden cutting board with no lid on.  It was still fairly warm when I cooked it, I just tried to make sure that I wasn’t steaming or anything.
  2. Sauté onion, peas and carrots in olive.
  3. Move vegetables to the side of pan and lightly scramble egg.  I used a fork.
  4. Add rice and margarine and sauté for 5 minutes.
  5. Add soy sauce and cook for 1 minute.
  6. Enjoy!!

TIPS:

Everything moves pretty quickly after you start sautéing the vegetables, so just make sure everything is in order and organized before you begin cooking.

OUR THOUGHTS:

This recipe was a hit!  My older sister did not like the peas and picked them all out, but other than that even my mom (who hates egg) really enjoyed it.  It tasted really authentic, and is definitely a recipe that my family will make again.  I can already envision myself next year in college cooking this on the regular…

PICTURES:

unnamed-7.jpg

Kelly picking out all the peas

unnamed-12.jpg

Finished dish in the pan

unnamed-10.jpg

A natural pose before my first bite

unnamed-11.jpg

My real reaction of how it tasted (I was telling my mom that it was really good)

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Let me know if this recipe works for you!

Happy cooking!

Krissy

Leave a Reply

