Week 1: Parmesan Roasted Zucchini

For the first recipe my mom and I created we decided to use an Ina Garten (the Barefoot Contessa) recipe out of her cookbook Cooking for Jeffrey.  This was an insanely simple and delicious recipe.  It’s a nice main dish if you do not eat meat but can double as a side dish.  The recipe is as follows:

6 medium zuchinni (we used 5)

Good olive oil

Kosher salt and freshly ground black pepper

1 tablespoon minced garlic or 3 cloves (we used big cloves and it was probably more than a tablespoon but I am a garlic addict and didn’t mind)

2 tablespoons minced fresh parsley leaves

2 tablespoons julienned fresh basil leaves (I minced these as trying to julienne them was too difficult for me)

1/2 cup freshly grated Italian Parmesan cheese (I also used more than this because I LOVE parmesan)

3/4 cup panko (Japanese bread flakes)

 

  1. Preheat oven to 425°F
  2. Trim stem end of zucchini, cut in half lengthwise, scoop out seeds with a regular teaspoon.
  3. Line zucchini on a sheet pan and brush with lots of olive oil
  4. Turn zucchini cut side down, sprinkle with 1 teaspoon of salt and roast 12-15 minutes. (until just tender but still firm when tested with the tip of a small paring knife)
  5. Mix all of the other ingredients together (1 teaspoon salt and 1/2 teaspoon of pepper…I just eyeballed it)
  6. When zucchini is finished cooking, flip and spoon the mixture into the zucchini.
  7. Bake another 8-10 minutes, until panko is crispy.

 

TIPS:

My mom and I used smaller zucchini and ended up cooking them a little too long (they got kinda mushy), so just make sure to check them periodically in order to avoid overcooking.

OUR THOUGHTS:

Very delicious!!  This recipe combined all of my favorite flavors.  Zucchini is one of those vegetables that is a little gross alone so it’s important to combine it with flavors that make it taste better and a little more intense (this recipe accomplished that).  The recipe was really quick and easy to do and also pretty filling.  All of my family enjoyed the dish, even my picky younger sister ate a little of hers!

PICTURES: (just one)

I have to admit we did not decide to make this blog until after we were finished eating so I do not have any pictures of the process but I do have one of the final product.   You can tell it’s not quite as firm as we would have liked, but in general it still tasted fine.  Also I am sorry, I am definitely not a food photographer ;).unnamed-6.jpg

Let us know if you try this recipe out!

Happy cooking,

Krissy

Leave a Reply

